Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1936

Milan-San Remo  Angelo Varetto ITA
Tour of Flanders  Louis Hardiquest BEL
Paris-Roubaix  Georges Speicher FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Albert Beckaert BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Gino Bartali ITA
Gent-Wevelgem  Robert Van Eenaeme BEL
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  Philemon Demeersman BEL
Tre Valli Varesine  Cesare Del Cancia ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  
Coppa Bernochi  Enrico Mollo ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Gustave Danneels BEL
Milano-Torino  Cesare Del Cancia ITA
Giro del Piemonte  Aldo Bini ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages