Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Winners of classics in 1928

Milan-San Remo  Costante Girardengo ITA
Tour of Flanders  Jan Mertens BEL
Paris-Roubaix  André Leducq FRA
Liege-Bastogne-Liege  Ernest Mottard BEL
Giro di Lombardia  Gaetano Belloni ITA
E3 Harelbeke  
Amstel Gold Race  
La Fleche Walonne  
Tre Valli Varesine  Battista Visconti ITA
Coppa Ugo Agostoni  
Coppa Bernochi  Carlo Galluzzi ITA
Clássica de San Sebastián  
Paris-Tours  Denis Verschueren BEL
Giro del Piemonte  Marco Giuntelli ITA

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages