Classic cycle races
The classic cycle races are one-day professional cycling road races in the international calendar. Most of the events, all run in western Europe, have been fixtures on the professional calendar for decades and the oldest ones date back to the 19th century. They are normally held at roughly the same time each year. In the last few years, the five most revered races are sometimes described as the 'Monuments'.
name of cyclist: won at least: times

Visualization of best nations
History of one day cycling races is here captured by the so-called chord diagrams. These are based on the project Circos (M. Krzywinski), which enables data visualization in this interesting form. Pictures show the most successful cyclists and states according to the number of victories obtained in the cycling classic.

Interactive visualization of the triumhs - most successful cyclists
Interactive visualization of the triumhs - cyclists with 10 and more wins in classic races
Interactive visualization of the triumhs - all nations and their triumhs

Best 5 nations

Legend for races: MSR (Milan-San Remo), TOF (Tour of Flanders), PR (Paris-Roubaix), LBL (Liege-Bastogne-Liege), GDL (Giro di Lombardia), GW (Gent-Wevelgem), E3 (E3 Harelbeke), AGR (Amstel Gold Race), LFW (La Fleche Walonne), TVV (Tre Valli Varesine) , CUA (Coppa Ugo Agostoni), CB (Coppa Bernochi), CSS (Clássica de San Sebastián), PT (Paris-Tours), MT (Milano-Torino), GDP (Giro del Piemonte)

This page was elaborated by the authors of, based on various web pages